top of page
Sarah Ellis

Exploring the World: A Fulbright Scholar's Journey

Updated: Jul 18




Welcome to "Exploring the World: A Fulbright Scholar's Journey," where I will take you on a virtual tour of my travels and share the insights and experiences I gain along the way. As part of the Fulbright program, I have the incredible opportunity to immerse myself in the culture and educational system of Uruguay this summer, opening my eyes even more to the interconnectedness of our world and solidifying the importance of global education. My first time abroad was in 2003 when I had the opportunity to study in Salamanca, Spain. One of the first things I realized was that there was so much that I didn't know, it was a humbling and amazing experience. Education is indeed a lifelong process that can be found in every corner of the world. From the small town of Lowell, Michigan to the beautiful streets of Blanca, Murcia, in Spain, I have witnessed firsthand how education is woven into the fabric of society. Whether it is through traditional schooling or informal learning experiences, every culture has its unique way of passing on knowledge and wisdom. Living and working in Blanca, Murcia, Spain in 2018-2019 on a sabbatical year also allowed me to witness the power of cultural exchange. I was able to share my experiences firsthand with my students back home in Lowell, through zoom calls and later though a PBL unit that connected the towns of Blanca and Lowell. Through these interactions, my students and I gained a deeper understanding and appreciation for the diversity of our world. I learned that despite our differences, we are all connected by our shared humanity. As I reflect on my journey, I realize that global education is more important now than ever before. In a world that is becoming increasingly interconnected, it is crucial for educators and communities to understand the value of global education. By exposing students to different cultures, languages, and perspectives, we can foster empathy, tolerance, and a sense of global citizenship. In the future, I hope to expand this travel blog and provide even more insights into the transformative power of global education. I want to inspire educators and communities to embrace diversity and create opportunities for students to explore the world. Together, we can build a more inclusive and interconnected society. Join me on this journey of exploration and discovery. Together, let's open our minds and hearts to the wonders of our world. Let's celebrate our differences and learn from one another. Let's make global education a priority and create a brighter future for generations to come. Stay tuned for more stories, tips, and insights from my Fulbright journey. Together, let's explore the world and make a difference through education.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page